Garden club announces awards, installs new officers


A palette of spring colors and plenty of good cheer were on the agenda for the Harbor Island Garden Club’s annual meeting Friday, May 8. The event, held at the MacCumber Terrace clubhouse for the second year running, was a celebration for the group whose mission is beautifying Wrightsville Beach and nurturing an interest in gardening and nature in general.

It was a successful year, judging from the stack of award certificates outgoing Harbor Island Garden Club President Elise Running brought back from the state convention. The club won a first-place award in the “Plant it Pink” category, which highlighted breast cancer awareness. Running thanked The Home Depot, which provided all of the planting supplies to the group.

The group received another first-place honor for crepe myrtle plantings, second place for herb gardens, and third place in the yearbook category.

After a luncheon catered by Middle of the Island, it was time to honor outstanding individuals and install new officers.

Kim Wilt, who single-handedly redesigned and modernized the club’s website, was named Woman of the Year. Although Wilt couldn’t attend the meeting, Running praised the new design, which among other things allows people to buy and pay for items online.

“She just made everything happen,” Running said.

After a sketch that included both heartfelt and humorous tributes to Running’s leadership during the past year, the club installed a new slate of officers:

Melynda McNeil, president; Leigh Kelly, first vice president; Dot Baucom, second vice president; Katy Cofer, third vice president; Eva Elmore, fourth vice president; Lynn Walker, recording secretary; Heidi Winslow, corresponding secretary; and Kim Gilbert, treasurer.

The club also awarded honors in horticulture and floral design. The award for novice horticulturalist went to Lesli Musselwhite. Leigh Kelly won the horticulturalist award. In the category of novice floral design, the honor went to Marianne Scanlon, while the floral design winner was Patti Jacaruso.

email [email protected]

Copyright 2015 Lumina News. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Leave A Reply

WP-Backgrounds by InoPlugs Web Design and Juwelier Schönmann